About the Board of Education

  • The Mahwah Township Board of Education is governed by a 9-member Board with each Board member serving a term of 3 years.

    Board members are elected to the Board by the registered voters of the Township during the November general election and take office during the re-organization meeting held during the first week of January. 

    When a vacancy occurs during the year, the vacant seat is filled in accordance with Board Policy.

    For the 2023 year, the Mahwah Township Board of Education members are:

Board Of Education Members

Position Board Member E-Mail
President Prema C. Moorthy, PhD pmoorthy@mahwah.k12.nj.us
First Vice President Richard A. DeSilva, Jr. rdesilva@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Second Vice President Benjamin A. Kezmarsky bkezmarsky@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee Michael Galow mgalow@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee Trista Daveniero tdaveniero@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee John Dinice jdinice@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee Christopher L. Hughes chughes@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee Lynda Zaccone lzaccone@mahwah.k12.nj.us
Trustee Matthew Park, PhD mpark@mahwah.k12.nj.us

More Information

  • Please be advised that any correspondence sent to members of the Mahwah Board Education or its employees by electronic or other means may be subject to disclosure under the Open Public Records laws of the State of New Jersey and, therefore, accessible to members of the general public or media agencies.